How Vegan Is Your Booze? Barnivore Gets The Answers

Candice McMillan
Sep. 17 2012, 12:00PM EDT

Animal products may not be the first things that come to mind when thinking of your favorite alcoholic drink, but research shows that some brewmasters, distillers and winemakers may be including them in the filtration process or even in the products themselves. Barnivore is a vegan alcohol directory that provides a list of alcoholic beverages that are 100% vegan friendly. The company provides the Barnivore API that makes this data available.

The fact is that when these alcoholic products are made, dairy and honey are often included in the recipe. In addition, products used in the filtering process can include isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells to name a few. This information is not always available on the product label and in some cases further investigation is required. Barnivore asks questions and finds out which companies use these methods and which don't.

The Barnivore directory already has a list of 8880 entries that have been checked, and double checked, as well as the option for users to submit further checks of their own.

Barnivore doesn't have an official app itself, but there are several apps that have been created by third party developers using its data. This data is available freely through the Barnivore API. Developers who are interested in making use of this can get more information on the Barnivore website.

When making the products, dairy and honey are often included in the recipe. In addition, products used in the filtering process can include isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells to name a few. Barnivore asks questions and finds out which companies use these methods and which don't.

Candice McMillan

Comments

Comments(4)